1ST WORLD CUP

                 (CRICKET SEASONS)

The History of the ICC Cricket World Cup dates back to 1975, when the first of its kind known as The Prudential World Cup was played in England.2019 Cricket World Cup hosted by England.

The first cricket Test match was played in 1877 between Australia and England. Cricket was contested at the 1900 Summer Olympics where Great Britain defeated France by 158 runs.However, the International Olympic Committee cancelled cricket as an Olympic sport afterwards.

The first attempt at arranging an international cricket competition was the 1912 Triangular Tournament. It was a Test cricket tournament played in England between all three Test playing nations at the time; EnglandAustralia and South Africa.

 Due to poor weather and a lack of public interest, the experiment was not repeated.From then on, international Test cricket teams only generally engaged in bilateral series as opposed to tournaments or leagues involving more than two nations

In the early 1960s, English county cricket teams began playing a shortened version of cricket, which only lasted for one day. 
Starting in 1962 as a 4-team knockout competition known as the Midlands Knock-Out Cup,and the Gillette Cup in 1963, one-day cricket grew in popularity and in 1969 a national league called the Sunday League was created. 

The first One Day International came about from a rain-aborted Test match at Melbourne between England and Australia in 1971 and was played on the final scheduled day. The forty overmatch (eight balls per over) was used to fill the time as compensation for the frustrated crowd.

The success and popularity of the domestic one-day competitions in england and other parts of the world as well as the early One-day Internationals prompted the International Cricket Council to consider organising a Cricket World Cup.

The Prudential World Cups  
1stbworld cup
world cup

The first three tournaments were officially known as the Prudential Cup after the financial services company Prudential plc who sponsored the event. The matches were of 60 overs per team and played in traditional white uniform and red balls. 
They were all played during the day. Eight teams participated in the first tournamentAustraliaEngland the West IndiesPakistanIndia, and New Zealand (the six Test nationsat the time), with Sri Lanka and a composite team from East Africa.
 One notable omission was the South African cricket team who were not competing due to the international sports boycott. West Indies won the first Cricket World Cup by defeating Australia by 17 runs in the final.
The next two World Cups held in 1979 and 1983 were again hosted by England. The 1979 Cricket World Cup saw the introduction of the ICC Trophy, a competition used to select non-Test playing teams for the World Cup.

Sri Lanka and Canada qualified through the ICC Trophy in 1979. West Indies again won the World Cup tournament, defeating England by 92 runs. At their meeting which followed the World Cup, the International Cricket Conference agreed to make the competition a four-yearly event.

The 1983 event was hosted by England for a third consecutive time. By this time, Sri Lanka had become a Test playing nation, and Zimbabwe qualified through the ICC Trophy. 

India were crowned champions after upsetting the West Indies by 43 runs in the final. The odds of India winning the cup were quoted at 66 to 1 before the competition began.



Milan Tomic

Hi. I’m Designer of Blog Magic. I’m CEO/Founder of ThemeXpose. I’m Creative Art Director, Web Designer, UI/UX Designer, Interaction Designer, Industrial Designer, Web Developer, Business Enthusiast, StartUp Enthusiast, Speaker, Writer and Photographer. Inspired to make things looks better.

  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment